All Ballon d’Or Winners

The Ballon d’Or is the greatest individual trophy for a footballer, and everyone dreams of it. This is a trophy that is awarded by the French magazine France Football to the player who has been distinguished throughout the year in his team and has had an excellent performance
The first Golden Ball was awarded in 1956 and was won by the Englishman Stanley Matthews who was playing for Blackpool at the time. The first footballer to win three consecutive Golden Balls was the Frenchman Michel Platini in 1983,1984,1985 playing for Juventus. Before him, the Dutchman Johan Cruyff had also managed to win three Golden Balls in 1971 with Ajax and in 1973, 1974 with Barcelona. Another Dutchman to succeed in this feat was also Marco van Basten with Arrigo Sachi’s Grande Milan in 1988, 1989 and 1992.
Until 1994 only footballers of European origin could win the trophy but in the following season in 1995 the trophy was won by a non-European player, the Liberian George Weah who is also the only African player to win the Golden Ball. The first Ballon d’Or by a South American was won in 1997 by Ronaldo the Phenomenon with Inter.
The Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo, who has won five Ballon d’Ors in 2008 playing for Manchester United and in 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017 with Real Madrid, and the Argentine Lionel Messi are the ones who dominate the roll of honor for this trophy. Messi who holds the absolute record with eight Ballon d’Ors, four of which he won consecutively from 2009-2012, something no one else has been able to do, and the others he won in 2015, 2019, 2021 and the last one in 2023. Thus putting an end to an extraordinary football match between him and the Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo.


1956Stanley Matthews (England)
1957Alfredo Di Stéfano (Argentina)
1958Raymond Kopa (France)
1959Alfredo Di Stéfano (Argentina)
1960Luis Suárez (Spain)
1961Omar Sívori (Italy)
1962Josef Masopust (Czechoslovakia)
1963Lev Yashin (Soviet Union)
1964Denis Law (Scotland)
1965Eusébio (Portugal)
1966Bobby Charlton (England)
1967Flórián Albert (Hungary)
1968George Best (Northern Ireland)
1969Gianni Rivera (Italy)
1970Gerd Müller (West Germany)
1971Johan Cruyff (Netherlands)
1972Franz Beckenbauer (West Germany)
1973Johan Cruyff (Netherlands)
1974Johan Cruyff (Netherlands)
1975Oleg Blokhin (Soviet Union)
1976Franz Beckenbauer (West Germany)
1977Allan Simonsen (Denmark)
1978Kevin Keegan (England)
1979Kevin Keegan (England)
1980Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (West Germany)
1981Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (West Germany)
1982Paolo Rossi (Italy)
1983Michel Platini (France)
1984Michel Platini (France)
1985Michel Platini (France)
1986Igor Belanov (Soviet Union)
1987Ruud Gulli (Netherlands)
1988Marco van Basten (Netherlands)
1989Marco van Basten (Netherlands)
1990Lothar Matthäus (Germany)
1991Jean-Pierre Papin (France)
1992Marco van Basten (Netherlands)
1993Roberto Baggio (Italy)
1994Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria)
1995George Weah (Liberia)
1996Matthias Sammer (Germany)
1997Ronaldo (Brazil)
1998Zinedine Zidane (France)
1999Rivaldo (Brazil)
2000Luís Figo (Portugal)
2001Michael Owen (England)
2002Ronaldo (Brazil)
2003Pavel Nedvěd (Czechia)
2004Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraina)
2005Ronaldinho (Brazil)
2006Fabio Cannavaro (Italy)
2007Kaká (Brazil)
2008Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2009Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2010Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2011Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2012Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2013Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2014Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2015Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2016Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2017Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2018Luka Modric (Croatia)
2019Lionel Messi (Argentina) 
2020Not awarded
2021Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2022Karim Benzema  (France)
2023Lionel Messi (Argentina)

Leave a Reply